NUS-Sweden Arctic Roundtable

(Participants at the NUS-Sweden Arctic Roundtable. Photo Credit: NUS)

On 21 November 2018, the National University of Singapore and the Embassy of Sweden in Singapore organised a NUS-Sweden Arctic Roundtable, which took place at the Shaw Foundation Alumni House, NUS. The aim of the event was for NUS participants to learn more about Sweden’s interests and activities in the Arctic, and likewise, for the Swedish delegation to learn more about NUS Arctic research activities. Representatives from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Singapore also participated in the event.

The event started with Welcome Remarks by HE Niclas Kvarnström, Ambassador of Sweden to Singapore and a General Introduction to NUS by Professor Chow Yean Khow, Executive Director, Maritime Institute@NUS. This was followed with introductions by the overseas Swedish visitors and NUS participants. HE Björn Lyrvall, Ambassador of Sweden for Arctic Affairs and Associate Professor Katarina Gårdfeldt, Director General of the Swedish Polar Research Secretariat introduced Sweden’s Arctic engagement and research activities. The NUS presenters then gave presentations on their respective Arctic-related research areas covering the Law of the Sea (Associate Professor Robert Beckman), Arctic engineering (Professor Chow Yean Khow), glacial ice (Associate Professor Chitre Mandar) and energy policy (Dr Philip Andrews-Speed and Dr Christopher Len).

The participants then engaged in free-flow general discussion during which they exchanged views and touched on possible areas of collaboration. The event ended with Closing Remarks by both HE Björn Lyrvall Professor Chow Yean Khow. This event was jointly moderated by Ms Helena Reitberger (Embassy of Sweden) and Dr Christopher Len (Energy Studies Institute). After the roundtable, the participants continued the conversation over lunch hosted by HE Niclas Kvarnström.


The Swedish participants consisted of:

- HE Björn Lyrvall, Sweden’s Ambassador for Arctic Affairs
- HE Niclas Kvarnström, Ambassador of Sweden to Singapore
- Associate Professor Katarina Gårdfeldt, Director General, Swedish Polar Research - Secretariat
- Ms Elinor Blomberg, Deputy Director, Arctic Affairs, MFA Sweden
- Ms Helena Reitberger, Counsellor/Deputy Head of Mission, Embassy of Sweden
- Mr Kenneth Raun, Defence Attaché, Embassy of Sweden
- Ms Hema Selva, Information and Commercial Advisor, Embassy of Sweden
- Ms Julia Lamers, Intern, Embassy of Sweden
- Mr Hugo Hillarp, Intern, Embassy of Sweden

The NUS participants consisted of:

- Professor Chow Yean Khow, Executive Director, Centre for Offshore Research & Engineering (CORE)
- Associate Professor Chitre Mandar, Acoustic Research Lab, Tropical Marine Science Institute (TMSI)
- Associate Professor Robert Beckman, Head, Ocean Law & Policy Programme, Centre for International Law (CIL)
- Ms Millicent McCreath, Research Associate, CIL
- Dr Christopher Len, Senior Research Fellow, Energy Studies Institute (ESI)
- Dr Philip Andrews-Speed, Senior Principal Research Fellow, ESI
- Dr Elena Reshetova, Research Fellow, ESI
- Mr Leow Foon Lee, Adjunct Principal Research Fellow, ESI
- Mr Chua Zhi Ming, Manager, Maritime Institute @ NUS

(Posted on 23 November 2018)